MINUTES CML Executive Board Meeting APRIL 26, 2024 - Denver, Colorado

Board members present: President Jessica Sandgren, Councilwoman, Thornton; Vice President Wynetta Massey, City Attorney, Colorado Springs; Seth Hoffman, City Manager, Lone Tree; Immediate Past President Dale Hall, Mayor Pro Tem, Greeley; Michelle Eddy, Town Manager/Clerk, Blue River; Carrie Hartwell, Town Clerk/Treasurer, Julesburg; Jim Keehne, City Administrator, Burlington; Dave Kerber, Mayor Pro Tem, Greenwood Village; Shannon Lukeman-Hiromasa, Mayor Pro Tem, Northglenn; John Marriott, Council Member, Arvada; James Marsh-Holschen, Council Member, Broomfield; Joshua Rivero, Councilmember, Parker; Carol Saade, Council Member, Breckenridge; Amanda Sawyer, Council Member, Denver; Dana Sherman, Mayor, Brush!; Katie Sickles, Town Manager, Bayfield; Laura Weinberg, Mayor, Golden.

Board members absent: Liz Hensley, Council Member, Alamosa; Anna Stout, Council President/Mayor, Grand Junction; Robert Widner, City Attorney, Centennial.

CML Staff members present: Kevin Bommer, Executive Director; Rachel Bender, Associate Counsel; Elizabeth Haskell, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Kharyl Jackson, Marketing & Communications Specialist; Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner; Jeremy Schupbach, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Robert Sheesley, General Counsel; Bev Stables, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager; Mark Vanderbrook, Database Specialist; Denise White, Engagement and Communications Manager; Rachel Woolworth, Municipal Research Analyst; Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager; Lara Larkin, Executive Assistant.

The meeting was called to order by President Sandgren at 10:00 a.m. Attendance was taken and a quorum was established.

John Marriott MOVED AND Josh Rivero SECONDED A MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM THE MARCH 22, 2024 MEETING. The motion passed unanimously.

Seth Hoffman, Secretary/Treasurer introduced the RubinBrownLLP audit team. They gave an overview of the annual audited financial statements and audit process. The audit report completes RubinBrown's 3-year contract. The BAM committee recommended the board accept the final audited financial statements.

Michelle Eddy MOVED AND Amanda Sawyer SECONDED THE MOTION TO ACCEPT THE BAM COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATION TO ACCEPT THE AUDIT REPORT AS PRESENTED. The motion passed unanimously.

Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager, reviewed the 2025 dues, dues schedule, and the projected 2025 budget. Wright provided additional details on how dues are currently calculated.

John Marriott MOVED AND Dave Kerber SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE DUES AS RECOMMENDED IN THE SECOND OPTION BY THE BAM COMMITTEE. The second option includes changes to the dues schedule to be announced at the June 2024 Annual Business meeting. The motion

passed unanimously.

Secretary/Treasurer Hoffman mentioned the committee discussed guidelines and flexibility on dues due to fiscal hardships as well as the issuance of an RFP for Audit services as RubinBrown just completed their contract with CML.

Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager, and the Advocacy team gave updates on the legislative session and the supplemental action items for the board's consideration.

SB24-193 Land Use: Protect Tribal Lands from Unauthorized Annexation, HB24-1454 Grace Period Noncompliance Digital Accessibility, and HB24-1460 Law Enforcement Misconduct were pulled for further discussion and a separate vote.

Amanda Sawyer MOVED and Josh Rivero SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS AS PRESENTED INCLUDING SUPPLEMENTAL ACTION ITEMS AND EXCLUDING THE THREE PULLED BILLS. The motion passed unanimously.

Michelle Eddy MOVED and Amanda Sawyer SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE PULLED BILLS AS AMENDED. The motion passed unanimously.

Elizabeth Haskell, Legislative and Policy advocate gave an update on the Property Tax Commission and subsequent legislation. Staff will keep the Board updated.

At 11:45 a.m. the meeting paused for a short lunch break. The meeting resumed at 12:00 p.m.

Denise White, Engagement and Communications Manager, provided an update on the Sam Mamet Good Governance Award nominations. There were 20 nominations and two individuals stood out. The committee discussed changing some of the parameters for the award.

Josh Rivero MOVED and Michelle Eddy SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE. The motion passed unanimously with Seth Hoffman abstaining.

Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner, provided an update on the upcoming Spring District Meetings. Board members were encouraged to attend as many as possible.

Kevin Bommer, Executive Director, gave a brief update on the upcoming Board Retreat to take place in Colorado Springs from July11-13, 2024. Gregg Piburn will facilitate the retreat.

Bommer presented the Succession Policy update.

Katie Sickles MOVED and Dale Hall SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE SUCCESSION POLICY FOR THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AS PRESENTED. The motion passed unanimously.

Bommer requests the League to extend the dues deadline to June 30, 2024.

Katie Sickles MOVED and Michelle Eddy SECONDED THE MOTION TO EXTEND THE DUES DEADLINE.

Bommer presented proposed amendments to the CML Bylaws. The first amendment would expand the due date for Board candidate applications from 15 days before the Annual Business meeting to 21 days. This would allow for additional time for Board candidates to prepare and submit campaign materials for the CML website. Other proposed amendments would simplify language found in the district meetings' section of the Bylaws. Other proposed amendments were grammatical or otherwise improving for readability.

Josh Rivero MOVED and Dave Kerber SECONDED THE MOTION FOR THE BOARD TO APPROVE THE PROPOSED AMENDENTS TO THE CML BYLAWS FOR CONSIDERATION BY MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING. The motion passed unanimously.

Executive Director Bommer reviewed Board members whose terms are ending in June and are running for re-election. Bommer and President Sandgren acknowledged Dana Sherman, Mayor of Brush! for her service to her community and CML.

President Sandgren adjourned the meeting at 12:40 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Seth Hoffman Secretary/Treasurer